rear driveshahft questions

Ask technical questions about your Ford Bronco II here. Technical write-ups on your axle swaps, engine swaps, chop tops, etc. are encouraged.
jerrysbroncoii

rear driveshahft questions

Post by jerrysbroncoii »

i have a 88' bronco II and i have purchased a 6" skyjacker lift for it. my rear drive shaft is the cv joint style and i know it needs to be changed, but i dont know what i need to change it to, and by the way this will be my first lift install, so i have limited knowledge on how to do it, any advice would be greatly appreciated
DBrown

Post by DBrown »

well, the type of drive shaft you need to look for it the style with 3 u-joints in it. they were in some BII from the factory so you can track one of those down......but when I got my lift I swapped in a duff shaft and it worked fine with my 3". with 6" you will need more length, so when you call to order your new one I would reomend you have a conversation with the guy ion the other end on the phone. you might need to install the lift then give the guy a measurement if they are going to build you a custom shaft.
71 Bronco - twin sticked, full width, 2" lift, wristed arm, lots of rust...

http://www.catalystcycles.com
jerrysbroncoii

Post by jerrysbroncoii »

thanks for your reply, i will give james duff a call tomorrow and see what they say, i have heard rumors also that you can get one out of the ford explores and have them cut to fit, the promblem i am haveing is i have heard to many different things to do
Nobody

Post by Nobody »

With a 6" lift, you will definately need a longer driveline. You will need to get a different yolk for your transfer case. I'm not sure what most people use, I believe it's possible to upgrade to 1310 u-joint.

You can either purchase a new driveline, have one built at a local shop, or find a junkyard driveline and have it cut down. I personally usually just finde one and have it cut.