My Bronco

Ask technical questions about your Ford Bronco II here. Technical write-ups on your axle swaps, engine swaps, chop tops, etc. are encouraged.
kylebronco2

My Bronco

Post by kylebronco2 »

Im kind of new to all this 4x4ing and customizing broncos...but basically im plannin on gettin a body lift for my 86 bronco 2, and a suspension lift along with a good set of swampers. For starters, im not sure whether to get 33's or 36 tires...and if my 2.9L fuel injected V6 could handle those...then engine is in really good shape and i believe has quite a bit of power...and feedback would be great
85ranger4x4

Post by 85ranger4x4 »

its all about the gearing.

You could run 44s if you were gear right...just wouldnt go very well on the freeway (and break your axles anytime you put it in 4x4).

For 33s, regear to atleast 4.10, for 36s regear to atleast 4.56s. for everything but freeway, the lower the gear(higher the #) the better. I am running 4.56s with 32s and a 4liter and its pretty darn fun. (I was running the same set up with a weak 2.8L and it was still totaly driveable, its just lots more faster now.

one thing to consider, even when I was running 31s, I would occasionaly break front axle parts. With the 32s I have lost 1 front U joint and 1 rear driveshaft U joint. Breakage happens unless you upgrade your drivetrain, then you will want to run bigger tires and then you will break again. Its a viscious cycle!

Iain
http://groups.msn.com/bellinghamdualsportriders

85 Longbed 4x4
94 4.0L V6, 4.56 welded rear, L/S front, 32" MTRs
kylebronco2

Post by kylebronco2 »

Thanks For Info...another question would be it i could even clear 33's or 36's with a 3inch body lift?
marinebroncoii

Post by marinebroncoii »