Looking @ a Bronco

Ask technical questions about your Ford Bronco II here. Technical write-ups on your axle swaps, engine swaps, chop tops, etc. are encouraged.
XJ Stryker

Looking @ a Bronco

Post by XJ Stryker »

Hey

Currently a Jeep owner huge XJ fan. Just found out my neighbor has an ole 89 tucked a way in his garage he is looking to get rid of. I have zero knowledge on Bronco's but I have fixed just about every thing on my Jeep so I am mechanically inclined.

Problem with this Bronco II. A few years ago he was driving it and he heard a loud bang and then she wouldn't go anymore!

2.9L v-6 Engine still runs like a champ and you can cycle the shifter through all the gears. You can also move the T-case through all the gears. But the truck will not move.

You can't push the Jeep at all with the tranny in Neutral or the T-case in Neutral. You have to use a vehicle or something to push it.

I crawled underneath and I don't see anything broke. I amthinking a JY tranny or T-case swap is in order to get this running. And I will search for the best way to do one of those but I would love ya'll conchairto troubleshooting if ya got time. I will check out what I can when I have access to the vehicle and hopefully with yalls help I can get this running and see what a Bronco can do on the trails.

Thanks XJ STRYKER
87 XJ wagoneer I6 242 Dana30/44 Combo 3in RC lift on 30's

Just Empty Every Pocket
Ranger Dave

Re: Looking @ a Bronco

Post by Ranger Dave »

first, ya gotta stop calling it a jeep :D . i take it its a 5spd. look to see if it has the CV type rear driveshaft. sometimes the joint goes. does the speedo read anything when its in gear runnin??
Ranger Dave

Post by Ranger Dave »

with it running and in gear, let the clutch out and it wants to stall??? like its locked up
XJ Stryker

Post by XJ Stryker »

Well its a Auto...

I can take it down to 1-2-D and OD then Reverse and All that. SHe doesnt hesitate like she wants to move or anything.