84 bronco won't start

Ask technical questions about your Ford Bronco II here. Technical write-ups on your axle swaps, engine swaps, chop tops, etc. are encouraged.
vicsbronco

84 bronco won't start

Post by vicsbronco »

Hello, guys!
I'm new to Bronco's. Just recently bought an 84 Bronco II..
It was missing ignition lock. I installed that, fixed some stuff around, changed all fluids, but now it won't start- engine cranks, carburator gets gas, spark is there from ignition coil, but there is no spark from distributor to the plug.
Is this a TFI problem, or ignition switch? Previous owner was using a screwdriver to start it. Now I can't start it at all.
Any ideas will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
Nobody

Post by Nobody »

If you are getting spark at the coil, but not at the plugs, then your problem would have to be the in the wires, cap, rotor. Since you are getting spark at the coil, then the TFI is working.

I suspect you probably are getting spark at the plug. How did you check it?

If you turn the key to the run position, then jump the starter solenoid with a screwdriver, does it start?
vicsbronco

Post by vicsbronco »

I have a spark tester. When I connected it between the coil and the coil wire, I see a spark when cranking the engine. Then I connected a tester between distributor and the plug wire. Jumping a a solenoid (I just disconnected wire to the starter, and jumped to the other end of solenoid), I see no spark when engine cranks.
Nobody

Post by Nobody »

Have inspected the cap and rotor? I've had the metal contact on the rotor fall off before.
vicsbronco

Post by vicsbronco »

I will today, thanks a lot. I got a new cap and rotor, but didn't get to it yesterday-just gave up. I bought it last week, towed it home. Towing guy had a jumper wires, so we started it by 2 scredrivers (one for ignition, one for solenoid), I drove it 10 yard to my garage. Never started again after that.
I like it a lot and hoping to drive it soon.