Duratech (Cyclone) Engine Swap

Ask technical questions about your Ford Bronco II here. Technical write-ups on your axle swaps, engine swaps, chop tops, etc. are encouraged.
jcscmng
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Duratech (Cyclone) Engine Swap

Postby jcscmng » Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:28 pm

Has anybody done an engine swap with the Ford Duratec V6 engine line, like a 35 or 37? I would think one would have to also swap drive train componets as HP is somewhere aroung 100hp more than the 2.9L Colonge. :cool:

User avatar
tekatlarge
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 8:54 am
Location: Kent, Worshington

Re: Duratech (Cyclone) Engine Swap

Postby tekatlarge » Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:59 am

I have no personal knowledge of swapping in a diesel, However there is a thread on here about someone doing a diesel in there BII. Try this link. http://www.broncoii4x4.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5158&hilit=diesel
The Tek @ Large
Kent,Worshington
I was borne under a rock. So what's your excuse?

jcscmng
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Duratech (Cyclone) Engine Swap

Postby jcscmng » Wed Aug 06, 2014 1:49 pm

The Duratech engines I'm interested in are gas engines, not diesel fueled.

User avatar
tekatlarge
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 8:54 am
Location: Kent, Worshington

Re: Duratech (Cyclone) Engine Swap

Postby tekatlarge » Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:55 pm

I just read a bit about duratech and variants. Odd to me to hear them called the Duratech but then I don't know everything.

I just skimmed over an old article on how the Duratech was Fords unsung hero in the v6 dept. I know I was once thinking about using a Taurus SHO motor in the B2 but I would have to find a Transmission that would mate to the SHO motor. I think a transmission from behind the Vulcan motors would be needed and then you need to do transfer case games. The whole thing then started smelling like a high dollar investment with no visible return for what I wanted and needed.

I think your idea has some merit let us know if you go through with it.
The Tek @ Large
Kent,Worshington
I was borne under a rock. So what's your excuse?

jcscmng
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Duratech (Cyclone) Engine Swap

Postby jcscmng » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:58 pm

Some of the Duratechs are mated to trans to rear wheel drive. The 37 might be too big 'cause it's used in the some of the F150s. I need to find out if the 35 has the same trans bolt pattern. Also, were they used in the Escape and or Explorer.


Return to “Bronco Tech”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest