Driveshaft

Ask technical questions about your Ford Bronco II here. Technical write-ups on your axle swaps, engine swaps, chop tops, etc. are encouraged.
Gerry

Driveshaft

Post by Gerry »

1990 BII Eddie Bauer 4x4 automatic that I keep at a house in Mexico. Need to purchase parts in USA to bring with me when I drive down. I'm hearing and feeling a clunk when I shift from park to reverse. Am told it's the driveshaft. I'm not a mechanic so I researched and read all the info on replacing the existing CV with the newer u-joint type. My question is, are there any major differences between the types of shafts offered by dealers as they seem to range from a low of $219 (Advance AutoParts CRS N98228) - this includes a current special discount and free shipping; to highs around $319 (Autozone A1Cardone A1659822); and $278.99 + Core at $48.00 at O'Reilly. This latter lists length at 30-1/4 inch. NAPA doesn't list a price for their NMD 931301 which says it's compatible but lists length at 36-1/4". I need to know what exact specs I need be looking for. All of these say they are for my year and model but now I'm confused. On paper the bargain from Advance AutoParts seems like the best deal. Am I safe going with that?
101btp

Re: Driveshaft

Post by 101btp »

make sure it's for an automatic, I learned the hard way put a manual one on my automatic within a month from that while I was going by my neighbors house cruising a steady 35 said drive shaft ended up in my neighbors yard! well what was left of it
Gerry

Post by Gerry »