84 BII Clutch problems

Ask technical questions about your Ford Bronco II here. Technical write-ups on your axle swaps, engine swaps, chop tops, etc. are encouraged.
84BII33s

84 BII Clutch problems

Post by 84BII33s »

I have an '84 Bronco II with a toyo kyogo 4-speed that won't shift into gear. The clutch hydraulic line was found to be empty. I check it once a month so it happened suddenly. I tried to refill the line so I could look for a leak but I can't pump the fluid past the master cylinder. I have little experience with automechanics so my questions are:

How do I bleed the clutch line? I didn't find a bleed screw on the slave cylinder.

The hydraulic line is made of a pre-formed, red colored hard plastic. If the line is cracked, should I just replace it with a rubber line?
DBrown

Post by DBrown »

I know that hte bleed screw was on the top of the tranny for my 86. what might be happening is your slave might be leaking inside the bell housing. is there any oil comming out of the bottom of the bell?
71 Bronco - twin sticked, full width, 2" lift, wristed arm, lots of rust...

http://www.catalystcycles.com
Nobody

Post by Nobody »

I think the TK4 has an external slave. There should be an allen screw on top of the slave cylinder for bleeding, next to where the line goes in.

Bleeding the clutch is a pita. If you have an external slave,

- take it off the transmission and let it hang.
-pump the master cylinder very slowly until the pushrod on the slave is pushed all the way out.
- open the bleeder screw on the slave
- pump the master very slowly until fuild comes out the bleeder.
- with the bleeder still open push the pushrod in and hold, then close the bleeder

- reinstall into transmission
- Have a 2nd person pump the clutch slowly a few times and hold
- crack the bleeder until a fluid starts to squirt, then quickly close.
- repeat untill you are satisified there is no air in the system and the transmission shifts into gear normally.